One day in Paris

What a beautiful city! Let’s begin with that. I only had a chance to be in Paris for one day although this short trip really makes me want more of it. There is so many places to see and the city itself is huge. During my one busy day in Paris I’ve only managed to have a small bite of it but definitely coming back in the near future to explore it more.

img_3973

Now let me go more into the details. The morning we arrived to Paris we had a coach tour around the city with a first stop at Sacre-Coeur Basilicia located in Montmare, the highest point of the city, over 200 steps to climb to get there to give you a bit of a warm up, haha 😀 The Basilicia itself is very impressive but also the city panorama you can admire from its steps. Next stop Place de la Concorde and finally dropping us off near the Eiffel Tower, time for some tourist’s selfies 😀 It made me thinking how does it feel like to live in such a big and touristic city as Paris. Do you still enjoy all of these attractions when being around them, do you still notice them or rather stay away from them as it’s simply too busy around the famous places to spend your free time there?

img_3969a

wp_20160813_10_04_27_proa

img_4103

Our next stop and the longest one was Musee du Louvre. I would never imagine a museum to be this size, or rather SIZE! We spend there a couple of hours and only briefly saw a piece of one wing of the museum. You need at least one full day to see it, unless we are talking about admiring every single piece of art there, then we are talking about weeks 😉 Besides the huge variety of arts and masterpieces from around the world, the architecture of the inside and outside of the museum is amazing. The main hall after passing the security check is very modern and it has the glass pyramid inverted into the lower ground part of the building.  I feel like using a word impressive for everything I’ve seen there, it just perfectly describes my view about Paris- Impressed. I am so happy I had a chance to see the ancient Greek sculptures, it’s a pure form of art and craftsmanship to me. My mind cannot imagine how is it possible to sculpt all those beautiful details like creases of the fabric, facial expressions etc. Wow! Of course I didn’t miss the queen of Louvre, the famous Mona Lisa always surrounded by crowds 😀 Being informed by my mum the real Mona Lisa is locked in the basement of Louvre with no access of natural light to not destroy the painting I wasn’t that excited. anymore.

img_4125a

img_4137

img_4140

img_4145

Venus de Milo ♥

img_4151

img_4161

img_4181

img_4179

img_4189

img_4190

img_4201

img_4209

img_4216

After a tiring walk around Louvre we had a Paris style lunch sitting by the Seine, eating a freshly baked baguette and drinking wine with the sunshine over us 🙂

img_4223

Next we visited Musee d’Orsay- the museum of impressionists  (which is literally across the bridge behind the Louvre Museum). Finally my dream to see Claude Monet’s masterpieces came true ♥

img_4218

img_4238

img_4278

img_4314

The inside of Sainte Chapelle

img_4293

img_4295

img_4296

img_4303

img_4306

And finally time for the Notre Dame!

img_4000

img_4325

img_4345

img_4331

img_4352

img_4360

The view from the highest building in Paris, Tour Montparnasse, you can see the Eiffel Tour from there.
img_4375

img_4377

I hope you enjoyed my mixture of photos from Paris 🙂  I would definitely recommend visiting Paris to anyone who likes art and architecture, you will really enjoy it! I am looking forward to go to Paris once again in the near future and discover more of its beautiful gems 🙂

Leave a Reply

